So near yet so far – this is how I can describe my situation, the trimestral period is almost over but not quite because of the final tasks that need to be done. There are still few forums that need reading and contemplation, assignments that need critical analysis, and final requirements that are audaciously playing tug-of-war with my work schedule and energy. But kidding aside, EDS 111 has been one of the subjects that created positive changes into my perspective as an educator in the corporate and industrial environment and though I wish UPOU has a BSBA program, I am still happy since many BES subjects have principles, approaches, and teaching styles that are very relevant and applicable in leading people and managing a system. Glancing back at my initial thoughts and ideas about effective teaching and the roles of our teacher in school and society, let me repost again my answers for reference:

Before: “Effective teaching happens when an educator and learner create an interactive and free-flowing channel of communication that leads to the attainment of learning goals and objectives.  Apart from this, one of the things effective teaching can do is the development of learner’s base value and correct principles in life – principles and beliefs that must be rooted to the learner not molded by a learning institution. For me I believe that teachers should have the following characteristics for him or her to be sufficiently effective in his or her noble endeavours:

  1. Passion to educate (I believe the most important)
  2. Patience
  3. Professionalism
  4. Respect towards cultural and racial diversity
  5. Open to new ideas and ability to do summative and formative assessment
  6. Possesses critical and creative thinking
  7. Ability to use different standards in decision making – moral standards, academic standards, political etc.
  8. Commitment to lifelong learning

Having mentioned the traits of an effective teacher, I believe that teacher’s role doesn’t only starts and ends in a classroom but it should be encompassing and multidimensional – the role of a teacher apart from endowing and developing knowledge is to serve as an integral guide and light between the student’s home, classroom and community. Outside the student’s home, the teacher should guide the student on becoming a productive and proactive unit in his or her community.”

After: After taking the TPI again, Apprenticeship is still my most dominant characteristics but the surprising part is, other perspectives have increased and somehow became closer to my dominant teaching perspectives. This can be a good indicator that I am gradually understanding all the gaps that need to be filled-in when teaching (multidimensional approach). For me these are the skills that a professional and effective teachers should have to create a well-managed classroom that optimizes and maximizes each and everyone’s potential and incorporate it with the teacher’s lesson plan and instructional materials to make the class student and learning-centered: Required Significant Teaching Skills and Characteristics:

  1. Instructional and Planning Skills This refers to the preparation, conceptualization, design and execution of instructional materials and other resources in accordance to the approved curriculum and the ability to provide assessment methodologies to gauge learning performance. Proper planning must be anchored not just to the lesson plan but to the learner’s demography, skills and abilities, and aligned to his or her personal and academic interest. Effective classroom    planning enables effective teaching through the maximization of student’s skills and resources’ potential.
  1. Classroom Management Skills The discipline and variety of skills that enables the teacher to create systematic, organized, and positive environment conducive for teaching and learning dynamics. Effective teaching entails   proper control and management over elements that affect teaching and learning engagements. Teachers should be able to manage learners (expectation, learning process, and behavior),   environment, resources, and learning opportunities.
  1. One Who Embraces and Celebrates Diversity Classroom population consists of students with different and contrasting beliefs and tradition, social background and ethnicity, skills and talents, and learning styles. Effective teaching    happens when the teacher has the ability to smoothly establish social linkages to different    learners in a single classroom so they feel welcomed, appreciated and accepted.
  1. Interpersonal Skills This comprise of the teacher’s set of innate skills (affective for instance) and social abilities that create positive relationship to the students that is nurturing, transformative, and developmental. Teacher has many roles in a classroom starting from being a facilitator, subject matter expert up to being the children’s second parent. Being said that, interpersonal or people skills play a big part in managing classrooms and ensuring that everyone learns effectively.

Because of the theories, principles, and approaches that this course has given me, I believe that I can be a better educator who truly understands and can establish deep connection to my colleagues, teammates and staff. The corporate world is pretty like the classroom – you nurture and enrich people’s skills and talents for them to be more effective in their personal and professional life, and create and improve the system to make the environment more conducive for effective learning guided by the strong belief in lifelong learning. This course paved way for me to become more professional and pushed me to strive for more by learning valuable things that will mold my character and sharpen my pedagogical strengths (things I believe are valuable and will help me in present and future). But I know, there are still many things that I need to learn and thanks to this course, I am a lot better than who I am last year.

