Many people have their own way of doing things, because in essence, people are very diverse and different in handling various situations. Our perspective, styles and strategies are also different from others since we have different upbringing, contrasting beliefs but sometimes, we stand on common grounds.

The other day I took an online teaching style survey (Grasha-Riechmann) which can be accessed on http://longleaf.net/teachingstyle.html . This web-based survey shows your dominant teaching style in a teacher-student environment (industry or academe) out of five; Expert, formal authority, personal model, facilitator and delegator. I am quite happy that the result showed that personal model is my most dominant teaching style after taking the survey. The result basically says that your students will always look at you as their role model and they expect you to guide, direct and lead them towards the goal of the subject or program. Moreover, being their living role model, I am expected to be well-versed in what I am teaching and be able to apply in the real-world without being too standardized and rigid.

In my work, I am actually hands-on to my staff, I make sure that I know all the processes involve in completing a single task. I ensure that all outputs are of quality by being part of the preparation phase of our work up to the execution until the evaluation stage. With this kind of approach in leading people, I am guaranteed that all of my teammates’ skills and talents are being maximized to achieve our agreed common goal.

Knowing our teaching style and perspective actually guide us in the direction that we want to pursue in the field of lifelong teaching and learning. Our styles, principles and foundations allow us to decide which area should be strengthened and which area should be developed – areas that are essential and crucial in achieving successful educational transaction, inside and outside the classroom.

